Because the world is round it turns me on

Daily Prompt: Bloggers, Unplugged

Sometimes, we all need a break from these little glowing boxes. How do you know when it’s time to unplug? What do you do to make it happen? Photographers, artists, poets: show us UNPLUGGED.

I am 24 and I have had a computer in my home since I was 4 or 5 years old. My siblings and I started playing games like the ping pong space game, Grandma and Me, Speed Reader, a Mario game, and other educational games. My brother learned to speak Japanese playing Grandma and Me, it was one of the language settings and at the age of 3 children can learn language pretty quickly. We learned to type and read fast, basic math, and we learned many other things we wouldn’t learn in school.

I don’t remember when we got internet at the house. The internet is one of the great inventions of time. To be able to connect with a long lost relative, with someone on the other side of the world, to learn in-depth anything from the comfort of our home is quite incredible. Just last month my grandma was Facetiming with my cousins in Dallas, she was confused at first and answered the phone like she does any other. And thanks to the internet I have been able to do my family tree relatively accurate up to my paternal grandmother’s parents, siblings and cousins. Additionally, thanks to the internet my dad found a cheaper way for my mom to call her family in Mexico, instead of using those calling cards.

Computers and phones allow us to connect to friends and family, and meet new people, close and far far away at the click of a button, and not at the pace of a snail. So why would anyone complain about the internet, computers and phones? Well because although they connect us and help us learn more, they also disconnect us from intimately knowing each other. Too many of us rely on phones and computers to do basic communication. Where are the days of visiting each other daily or writing letter, letter writing is a lost art. Who can write a letter nowadays? Even those deployed have access to the internet, well sometimes.

When is it time for me to unplug? When my head, eyes, or neck hurt usually. I was raised with computers and smartphones. At one point I had a phone, a netbook, a laptop, and a desktop. Spoiled, yes; connected, most definitely.  It is this accessibility that has always make me miss the days when computers existed on TVs and movies, and there was only one phone in the house; I think I was born in the wrong decade. I have often wished my boyfriends would send me a love letter, not an email. Anyways, when I’m ready to unplug turn on my radio and read a book, a genuine book full of book smell. I love to read, so I have plenty to choose from. If it’s not reading then it’s playing with the dogs, practicing some music, or baking and decorating.

Unplugging is as simple as turning it off. We all should spend a minimum hour of unplugging daily and spending more quality time with ourselfs, our family, our friends, or even just laying around on the couch doing nothing. That beep from our phones adds a little anxiety and/or stress to our daily lives that it would do us good to ignore every once in a while. Is that text message, that email, the new episode that important???

“Aaaaaahhhhhh…
Because the world is round it turns me on
Because the world is round…aaaaaahhhhhh”

Leave a Reply

