Help! I need somebody

DailyPrompt: Exhale
Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SAFETY.

There are many things that go wrong everyday. Some days, some situations, are just so wrong that it seems like we might be drowning and can’t take it anymore.

For me this happens when I have a big pastry project to do, such as 100+ cupcakes or a detailed cake. I am a mostly, self-taught cake decorator, but I like to call myself a Cake Artist. I took some Wilton courses at Michael’s, and the rest I learned through trial-and-error and YouTube. I must say, I am not good at drawing or painting. But I am good at making my pastries look like art, I think. I know they look good and taste good.

When I do one of these edible art things, sometimes it’s hard for me to draw it out. I have this image of what it should look like, of what my perfect idea is. My helper usually is my mom and sometimes my brother. So you can see how frustrated I can get when I can’t draw exactly what’s on my mind and therefore it’s hard to explain, and sometimes even show it to them.

One good example of when I thought everything was going wrong was my first fondant cake. I decided out of the blue to try and make one of those fancy looking, super smooth cakes that seem to be covered in play-doh frosting, aka fondant. And to put more icing on the cake, I decided to do a cake in the shape of a submarine. My sister LOVES The Beatles, especially Paul McCartney. She loves them so much she collects their vinyls, has a tiny yellow submarine water radio, posters and has been to 2 McCartney concerts. So anyways, she was turning 18 and I decided to do something special for her. All I told her was that I was doing a Beatles’ themed cake.

First time carving a cake, first time decorating with fondant. I had very little idea what to do. I of course made my own fondant because the store bought one is expensive and tastes weird. It was hard frosting a cake full of crumbles and oddly shaped, well first was the shaping it. After shaping it and frosting it came the fondant covering. This cake was big, it was about 2ft long and 1ft wide, maybe a little bigger. The hard part, Always, when working with fondant is trying to cover the cake with one sheet. So this was a big cake and I didn’t have a stick long enough to roll the fondant on to help me cover the submarine. Everything had to be perfect, no cracks, and it had to be ready on time for the party. I was stressed, I couldn’t get the fondant at a right thickness to not tear and long enough to cover the whole thing. In the end I had to just do two sheets and try to fuse them together with water. Water helps to get rid of tears by rubbing. The rest of the cake when by quicker and easier. The hardest part was over and it was starting to take shape. I knew then that it would be awesome and that my sister, and my parents, would love it because it was the Yellow Submarine.

It was my first fondant cake. I cherish that memory because it was my first of many fondant pastries, and I knew then that I could do it, that I could create edible art. It certainly isn’t my best work, but I sure think it is great for a first timer. It was a beautiful cake and I am proud of it.

“As we live a life of ease
Every one of us (every one of us) has all we need (has all we need)
Sky of blue (sky of blue) and sea of green (sea of green)
In our yellow (in our yellow) slubmarine (submarine, a-ha!)”

“Help me if you can, I’m feeling down
And I do appreciate you being ’round”

The Beatles' Yellow Submarine, Fondant.

The Beatles’ Yellow Submarine, Fondant.

Leave a Reply

